Timing is Everything

Posted: June 10, 2010 in Spain 2010, Uncategorized

This morning was another struggle to sleep in long enough. The floor here betrays my footsteps with a creaky protest, and the occasional thudding pop  as the time-worn floorboards move under their grandmotherly patina. My bed is shorter than I am. Time moves slowly in the morning when everyone else is asleep. I take mental stock of everything in the fridge and pantry which I tend to do often at home. Thinking of things I can make that my Pepita (homestay mom) would try without being too shocked. I decide its time to introduce an old Spanish grandma to the idea of a cooked breakfast.

Ingredients swim through my head, tastes, textures, nebulous concepts. I know I want to make something with eggs, since they suck at cooking eggs and I have quite a bit of practice making a perfect poached egg (the key is adding a bit of acid to the water, and making it spin like a tornado before you gently open the egg into it at water level, so it holds together). Anyways I decided to make little baguettes with panseared chorizo, poached egg, and aged gallecian cheese on top, I call it Eggs Santiago.

My creation: Eggs Santiago

As soon as I am finished making it, Pepita walks out the door to work. I guess she didn’t understand what I was doing. I tried to tell her I was cooking her breakfast. It sits there. I feel slightly sad. I made too much for myself to eat alone; I am alone.

I put a little note on it that says “please eat this, good morning” and hope that the girl who is staying here eats it when she finally awakes from her slumber.

(will post more soon, going out for some drinks)

near La Plaza Roja - Old Town, Santiago de Compostela. You can see the cathedral in the distance.

Ok justs got back from a night drinking Gulden Draak and gin and tonics… I forget what happened today. Doesn’t really matter, but I do remember that I wanted to tell you that people seem to store dishes in the dishwasher, instead of the cupboard, which seems odd to me. I have a picture of it.

I don’t know if my homestay mom is just super lazy or if that is the custom of the region; it seems kind of ineffective tho. They wash the dishes by hand and then put them in the dishwasher for storage.

Anyways, I am pretty drunk still, even tho I got lost getting home and walked for over 20 mins. Everyone here drinks a lot.

Comments
  1. spring says:

    you may feel alone at times,but i at least am with i thoughly enjoy every gloriuose step outlined in your blog.i love you Dov and i am sorry that you feel so alone you make freinds i am sure of that it just takes some time…peace

  2. dovss says:

    I was more expressing the feelings of the moment; having made breakfast and it not being eaten. I don’t really feel too alone for the most part.

  3. Mom says:

    How are the classes going? Did you meet the person from Kelowna? Cia is coming over (the woman who owns the Greek restaurant with her husband) She is coming to visit that person I cannot remember if his name if William not sure. I may not be working past the end of this month. Not great for finances but more than likely better for me and Becky for sure. If that is the case, I will come over to visit you if I have time before my knee surgery on Aug 4.

    Mom

  4. Mom says:

    Oh perhaps you remember, the diswasher thing happened in China. They did not want the expense of running it and did not have enough cupboard space to justify keepig it empty

  5. robin says:

    Gulden Draak… no wonder you can not remember the events of the day. I thought it was Belgium… is there any good Spanish beer that is new to you or are they wine mostly?

Leave a comment